The 4 Noble Truths & the Eightfold Path*

  1. The Truth of Suffering
      Suffering: Everything in the world of the senses is impermanent.

  2. The Truth of the Cause of Suffering
      Attachment: We try to hold onto the world of the senses.

  3. The Truth of the End of Suffering
      Enlightenment: Stop looking for outside solutions (in the world of the senses).

  4. The Eightfold Path: A Way to sustain Enlightenment.
      1. Right View
        Work on understanding the reality of the situation.
      2. Right Intention
        Stop causing problems (drop desire, gain compassion).
      3. Right Speech
        "If you can't say something nice, don't say anything at all."
      4. Right Action
        You know how you should behave, so do it.
      5. Right Livelihood
        Apply your ethical realizations to your career.
      6. Right Effort
        Actively cultivate righteousness in your personality.
      7. Right Mindfulness
        Pay attention to detail.
      8. Right Concentration
        Work on becoming 'the Observer'.

*(I am not a Buddhist.
Of note, no Buddhists were harmed in the composition of this article.)